Language-School-Teachers.com
Find classes, courses or private lessons. Study in class, from a distance or study abroad. Get tutoring help for grammar or proficiency tests such as toefl.
Learners: Find Teachers  Create Profile FAQ's Login
Teachers & Schools: Find Learners  Create Profile FAQ's Login
Self-study: Lessons  - Quizzes  - Articles  - Create  
Welcome Guest!

Home
Online Language Courses
Jobs
Contact Us
Join!

Read Teacher Reviews - Elodie Préaud

Review of Elodie Préaud by Monica and all follow-up messages:

Rating Comments
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Monica
February 8, 2017


Lead Acquired:
September 1, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
52
First class!

i can't praise Elodie enough. She's extremely professional, has a wonderful warm personality and by far an exceptional teacher. She's been helping my three daughters with French for about a year and all three girls agree she's 100 times better than their French school teacher. Highly recommend Elodie to anyone wanting to learn French by a perfect instructor.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Monica only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Behnam
October 14, 2016


Lead Acquired:
October 14, 2016

Hours of Instructions:
30
Perfection in all ways

I started with Elodie with zero knowledge of French language and now after 40 sessions (30 hours) I am so confident talking with people and customers at work. She did an amazing job, tailor making specifically for me and my way of living (things I need on daily basis and I may need for future references).
All I can say is that .. she is a wonderful teacher with super cool personality




Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Behnam only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Charlen
September 1, 2016


Lead Acquired:
August 31, 2016

Hours of Instructions:
100
Who else? She's the one!

When I started the lessons, I did not know a single word of French, but even after the first lesson Elodie had me speaking in complete sentences. Then, only one month later, I could hold conversations, conjugate verbs, and read and comprehend quite a bit.

Today, one year later, after around 100 lessons, I am able to speak and understand French very well, and I love feeling that I have the same confidence as with my native language to start, follow and finish conversations in French.

Elodie's lessons have provided an irreplaceable foundation for me to build upon and it is absolutely true that in under one year, I can speak, write and understand more French than my peers who took classes for years through high school and college.

Finally, aside from being a wonderful teacher, Elodie is a great person. Her energy and sense of humor is inspiring. It makes you really want to learn. So, if you are looking for a way to truly learn French, trust me, she is the perfect teacher!




Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Charlen only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: L.Merriman
December 21, 2015


Lead Acquired:
July 9, 2015

Hours of Instructions:
25
You could not ask for a better teacher

A wonderful teacher, a wonderful person, in a lovely place. I feel so lucky to have been taught by Elodie,fun, hard working and the patience of Job, at a pace that matches your ability but stretches you,always moving you on, a true professional.
Thank you.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or L.Merriman only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Andrew
August 31, 2015


Lead Acquired:
February 28, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
60
An excellent experience

I never learned French at school and as an adult, found evening classes unsatisfactory. I never seemed to be able to progress beyond a certain basic level, especially in comprehension. I started lessons with Elodie a year and a half ago and have found the experience inspirational and transformative. Her rigorous approach to all aspects of the language is impressive; the audio and written materials are excellent; and all work submitted is marked and commented on very thoroughly: excellent value for money. I had never used Skype before but am now converted to it. In addition to the benefit of one to one lessons, Elodie types the phrases or questions as you go along, which not only helps with difficult points of grammar or pronunciation, but serves as another source from which to revise. Her sense of humour is always to the fore, making the lessons enjoyable.

I decided to consolidate what I had learnt by arranging to stay with a French family for three weeks in Mormoiron and attend lessons with Elodie. This was a superb experience. The family that Elodie organised for me was extremely kind and generous and I was accepted like one of the family, enjoying lovely food, being introduced to other relatives and friends and taken on trips to some of the most beautiful places in Provence. Speaking French to them on a daily basis was a pleasure and ultimately deeply satisfying. Many idioms and phrases that French people use are now firmly embedded in my mind and I have reached a level where I can converse in, and understand French much more confidently than before. Recently, I met a French colleague of mine and she recognised immediately the huge strides I had made with the language, stating, 'Tu as fais beaucoup de progrès en Français et tu t'exprimes de façon beaucoup plus fluide et naturelle'. Perhaps there can be no better testament to Elodie and her methods than that.




Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Andrew only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Michal
April 9, 2015


Lead Acquired:
November 12, 2007

Hours of Instructions:
100
Great, professional and dedicated French teacher.

Before starting French classes with Elodie, I was going to a language school migros in Geneva and I cannot say I learned that much. What I can say is that with Elodie, regardless of which country you come from you will learn a lot and if you are dedicated you will see your progress in short time. You are encouraged to communicate and speak a lot during the classes and you gain confidence in speaking and using what you have learned.

I have been studying now for some time with Elodie, which is incredibly nice person. She does everything to facilitate learning process and help you get it without making you feel confused or overwhelmed. Classes with Elodie helped me master everyday life situation like shopping, making a doctor appointment on the phone, as well as more complicated things like talking about technical aspects of my work, talking to doctors etc. Right now I am doing driving course in French and classes with Elodie are invaluable help in getting right all the traffic related vocabulary and expressions. It really makes the whole experience easier and less stressful.

I am completely satisfied with Elodie's classes and grateful to have her as a teacher. I would highly recommend her to anyone looking for a great and professional French teacher.

Yordanka



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Michal only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: George
March 24, 2015


Lead Acquired:
April 6, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
100
A fantastic teacher.

My wife and I have been taking lessons with Elodie for the past year. Not only have we learnt a great deal in this time but we have also thoroughly enjoyed every lesson and laughed a lot! Elodie also sets us homework and marks it, which is a real bonus. From a professional point of view Elodie is clearly very well qualified, she teaches excellent French grammar and she can also speak English very well which sometimes comes in helpful when we're completely stuck. I think a French teacher like Elodie is a very rare find and we thoroughly recommend her to others.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or George only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Edmond
October 9, 2014


Lead Acquired:
June 24, 2013

Hours of Instructions:
50
The best French teacher ever!

Elodie is a wonderful teacher. Her teaching skills are advanced. She was very quick to assess my abilities and deficiencies to tailor her instruction accordingly. She is fun, delightful and the lessons go very very fast!!! Under her direction, I have improved my French at least ten-fold in just a few months. I eagerly look forward to our sessions each week and highly recommend her to anyone who is serious about learning French!!



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Edmond only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Gerald Hansen
April 30, 2014


Lead Acquired:
December 30, 2013

Hours of Instructions:
24
Great Teacher

My two children studied with Elodie 3 hours a week for two months. Elizabeth who is 20 said: I studied with Elodie for 2 months in Mormoiron. It was a great experience! She makes things so easy to understand. I've always been afraid to speak other languages, but when I learned with her, I felt so comfortable. It is nice to have personal lessons, because she really gets to know you, and if there are things you need to learn that you normally wouldn't learn in a class at your level, she can teach it to you in a way that is very easy to understand.

She is really good at pushing you, but also realizes there is a point where you need a little bit of a break. She will not push you farther than she thinks you can go.

It was also great to learn about French culture, politics, food, education, and so much more from the conversations we had. She expects you to speak French always, because that is the only way you learn. I really enjoyed every minute with her and wish I could have stayed for a lot longer. Her classroom is a great environment and the village is beautiful.

Hyrum who is 25 said: She was a really, really great teacher. Very easy to work with and get along with. I learned a lot while I was with her. Very nice personality. She pushed you hard to try to move you to new levels but she also new how to find the pace at which you could go. I would recommend her to anybody. Hands down the best French teacher I've ever had.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Gerald Hansen only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: alan
October 16, 2013


Lead Acquired:
October 14, 2013

Hours of Instructions:
30
The Best

Do you still remember that special teacher in high school who made the difference? The one who changed how you felt about a subject or started a passion for learning that has stayed with you. Well, Elodie is that teacher. Strong words I know but true. You can look on the Internet or talk with friends and you will find any number of competent teachers. But finding that perfect teacher who will challenge and inspire you to learn French; that is not so simple. But here is the solution: take a lesson with Elodie. You will discover someone who feels more like a friend than a teacher; someone who cares about you and wants to see you improve. All of the reviews you read here are true. She is different. She is special. To paraphrase the line from the movie The Matrix: "She is the one".



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or alan only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Sammy
June 23, 2013


Lead Acquired:
January 17, 2013

Hours of Instructions:
3
Nothing is impossible!

Working with Elodie for the last few months has been an extraordinary experience. The technique, the excercises in combination with Elodie's excellent teaching and personal skills will help anyone who want to learn French. I have tried several different language schools, and I am convinced that her method creates a "language memory" that lasts longer, even while not practising it. Through Elodie, I have learnt that writing foreign words over and over, and commonly used in many schools, is not the best way of memorizing and learning a language. Instead, by use question and answers, you stay active & proactive, it is fun and makes it easier to learn and remember. Of course we all learn differently, however, I believe that Elodie has come really far with her learning style and methods and could teach anyone French in less than 3 months.

I could not be more satisfied with the professionalism, the excellent work and Elodie´s patience and compassion shown in every class.



I have had 3-4 lessons a week during 3 months

- Sammy
- June 23, 2013


Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Sammy only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Stina
June 11, 2013


Lead Acquired:
February 20, 2013

Hours of Instructions:
30
A great teacher!

To put it mildly I was very sceptical about the idea of learning French via Skype. I was worried it would be impersonal, awkward and that I would end up with some French bum pretending to be a teacher! But Elodie put my worries to rest already after the first lesson. She is clearly a professional teacher and she made me feel like she was there with me in my office. I started lessons with an A2 level and the ambitious goal of passing my B2 exam five months later. We worked with practical exam questions and focused on the oral exposé which is where I needed most practice. I just passed my exam and it went much better than I had expected! I can safely say I would have failed dismally if it wasn't for Elodie. I would highly recommend her.



I have now received my results for the DELF B2 exam. I passed with flying colours and to my surprise I received a 24/25 on the oral exposé production! It is all thanks to Elodie!

- Stina
- June 22, 2013


Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Stina only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: B Miller
March 24, 2013


Lead Acquired:
January 17, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
150
Exceptional

When Elodie's electronic files arrive, they are bookended by Ella Fitzgerald and Eric Clapton in my iTunes library. So appropriate that Elodie keeps close company with these greats. The verve of Ella and the legendary skill of Slowhand seem to perfectly reflect both her character and her capacity for excellence*.

*Everything you read in each of the five-star reviews below is true.



Passed the DELF B2 exam with ease. Through Elodie's patience, dedication and humour she kept me inspired and focused, deftly reeling me back in when my resolve would drift. Elodie has a real talent for making the experience of learning French immensely enjoyable. With her encouragement, my language skills developed to the point where I could take the test with confidence. Many thanks!

- B Miller
- November 5, 2013


Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or B Miller only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Zbigniew
March 4, 2013


Lead Acquired:
January 24, 2013

Hours of Instructions:
15
professionalism, adaptability and a lot of fun

Elodie teaches very effectively, feeding the student with the new material during each lesson, but not forgetting to check his understanding of the knowledge already acquired. When she explains grammar rules, she links the material with the cultural context, which makes her lessons something more than just a language course. You will never get bored! Elodie watches the student's progress carefully, and adapts the course program accordingly, spending some extra time on the parts difficult to learn.
As she always look for topics the student is passionate about, you will have a lot of fun talking with her, and you will forget that you are actually following a language course.

I've been studying with Elodie via Skype for some time already, and I recommend her without any hesitation. She did what several teachers before her failed to do: she made me speaking French :)



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Zbigniew only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: MG
January 27, 2013


Lead Acquired:
January 26, 2013

Hours of Instructions:
40
Accomodating, patient and effective

I spend a lot of time in Provence and the need to increase my French proficiency was becoming stunningly obvious (using the present tense exclusively will only get you so far). However, I also travel A LOT for business and I needed someone who would be flexible in terms of scheduling so that we could continue to work together via skype whilst I was not in Provence. Elodie has never been anything but understanding and accommodating.

Elodie also makes the experience fun. I look forward to my sessions with Elodie, which is an essential element for something like middle-aged second language learning. In terms of effectiveness, I learned more from Elodie in my first four sessions than a year of messing about with Rosetta Stone.

As integration into my second home is my goal, I also appreciate the fact that I can ask Elodie anything about French culture and she explains nuances that, quite frankly, might otherwise be difficult to access.

Would I recommend Elodie? Without a second's hesitation.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or MG only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Caroline
August 28, 2012


Lead Acquired:
November 30, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
30
Elodie is a WONDERFUL teacher.

I had studied French in fits and starts over many years, at school, at university, with Alliance Francaise, but never for long and had managed to retain some of the structures and conjunctions, and an eclectic mix of vocabulary. Not particularly useful for daily life in France.

Having moved to Provence, I assumed I would be able to pick up the language by osmosis. Sadly, this didn’t happen! So I searched online to find all my language school options, and chose Elodie based entirely on her student feedback, and am very happy I did. I can now confirm that it’s all true! She is an excellent teacher, very knowledgeable of both formal and colloquial English and French, and is at once inspiring, funny and firm. Her lessons are clear, structured, focussed on both conversation and written language, with useful homework exercises and immediate feedback, and all of my questions were answered in a way I understood (not the way my French boyfriend tries to explain!) I particularly like Elodie’s emphasis on correct pronunciation, and her teaching of the flowing style of speech used by all native speakers. It has helped me understand and be understood!

I highly recommend Elodie to anyone wishing to improve their French language at any level. If my mother retires to France, I’ll be sending her to Elodie tout de suite!




Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Caroline only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: RXAJL
March 14, 2012


Lead Acquired:
September 6, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
40
A better learning experience Than I could have Imagined

Yes - you can learn conversational French well via Skype, if you are lucky enough to find a great teacher. I "lucked" onto Elodie.

For background --- I am an American with a French wife. We had been living in the US for years, until last year when we decided to try living in France for 8 months. I didn't know French before then - I studied Spanish in school and that was 40 years ago.

My situation may be a bit different than the typical student. First, I'm in my 50s. Second, I had little interest in writing French, only to speak and understand French conversation. That made life a bit easier. Third, our schedule was not very conducive to studying anything. I was running a US company from France, my wife was pregnant and our 4 year old English-speaking daughter was adjusting to French school/life. Finally, I needed to be reasonably conversant in French within 4 months - in time for the French relatives get-together at Christmas.

IT HAPPENED.

I opted for a Monday and Friday class weekly with Elodie. I would recommend that for someone looking to learn quickly. (WARNING - she does give homework and I was up to near-midnight many times writing stories for her in French - but that really accelerated my learning).

A few comments about Elodie - First, she knows the French language inside and out. ALL the rules, and appropriate language usage...more than my french born/educated wife. Second, her approach to teaching conversational French is excellent. I applied my lessons daily, in real life french conversations. Third, she is a great person - friendly, accommodating but also highly professional. Finally - she's a good motivator. As with any learning process, there are peaks and valleys. She kept me going during the down cycles, even the one-time I wanted to give up on learning French. Elodie-- thank you for that!

I also must say in fairness- it helped immensely having a French speaking person in the household, in this case, my wife. If you have access to that while you're learning -- take full advantage of it.

Elodie charges a bit more than some of the other teachers I considered. That's an important consideration - but for me, she was the right choice.

All in all - a great teacher and learning experience that I plan to continue with in while back in US (for our next trip to France!)

Andy L.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or RXAJL only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Mike Williams
January 7, 2012


Lead Acquired:
January 7, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
40
Excellent Teacher

I have had very positive experiences with Elodie.

Early in 2011 I bought a second home in Provence, having been a regular visitor for a few years. I was completely unable to speak French and I had no "feel" for the language at all. When I was at school in the UK (many years ago) we (unusually) did German as our first foreign language and I never went on to to do a second language then. I also lived and worked in Germany for a couple of years when I was young. More recently, I have lived in the Netherlands for the last 15 years and I now speak quite competent Dutch as well as (very rusty) German. So all my language background is Germanic and I had no "schoolboy French" as a starting point. Also, at the age of 65, I am aware that I do not find it so easy to pick up a new language as I did when I came to terms with Dutch 15 years ago. The good news is that I have learned new languages before and I am from the generation that learned in a formal and structured way so I have a good grasp of grammatical structures in any language.

I chose Elodie as a result of web research. I was keen to find a teacher who was based reasonably close to my french house - for face to face lessons - but was also experienced in online teaching. My idea was that I could sometimes do face to face when I was down in Provence and then continue with some lessons (by Skype) when I was back in Amsterdam. This pattern of study was attractive to me because I have a background in online education myself and it is a medium which I find very interesting - as well as practical.

Well, the plan is working well. I started off with a block of lessons at Elodie's place in Mormoiron and since then we have had regular lessons by Skype. Her teaching style works well for me. She is lively and encouraging but also challenging. She does believe in hard work and (for me) she does use an explicitly grammatical structure as the foundation for learning. (I don't know what approach she uses with students who don't "do" grammar.)

Equally important is that she is experienced and enthusiastic about teaching using Skype. She is able to establish
a good working interpersonal connection and uses a range of learning materials for testing and practice. My French has certainly developed quite a lot in the last 4 months. I have a long way to go in developing confidence and fluency - especially in speaking - but I am sure that progress is good. I doubt if I could have found a teacher who was more suited to my needs and personal learning style.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Mike Williams only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: sims family
January 3, 2012


Lead Acquired:
June 14, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
32
Fantastic French Teacher with Lots of Patience

I have found Elodie to be a great French teacher. She was able to gauge my level of competence in the language quickly ( I had studied at school 30 years ago ) and then develop a program for me that allowed me to progress quickly and logically based on 2 lessons per week.

In my case, Elodie developed my lessons around the most frequently used tenses, present, past and future, providing explanations and written and verbal course work targeted at each set of verbs and tenses.

My lessons have included both practical conversation, focusing on accent and pronunciation as well as conjugation theory, vocab expansion and homework review.

Elodie is always very enthusiastic and positive in her approach to my lessons and very patient with an English speaker who struggles with many of the differences between the languages (word order, negation, etc.)

If you are coming to France to learn French, Elodie has a great classroom and also makes excellent coffee!

I would recommend Elodie to anyone who is looking to learn French, irrespective of their level.

Chris




Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or sims family only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: joym368
July 31, 2011


Lead Acquired:
May 20, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
18
One in a million!


The perfect 5-score reviews for her French language instruction on language-school-teachers.com led me to contact Elodie a couple of months ago.

I was quite skeptical about the effectiveness of language lessons via Skype, as I am old school and used to a blackboard, a textbook and a teacher in front of me.

Elodie responded to my inquiry within 12 hours, assured me that her lessons via Skype would be just as effective as a classroom course and offered me a trial lesson.

From the moment we first met on Skype, her enthusiasm and confidence in teaching the language were evident. She quickly assessed my language level while successfully keeping my anxiety at bay.

I came with five months of studying and gloomy perspectives of ever learning French, let alone speaking this beautiful, yet challenging language. After a few lessons, however, my perspectives have completely changed.

Although I am far from being fluent and continue to struggle to put the mental puzzle pieces together from the rich French grammar rules, I can honestly say Elodie has already taken my French to another level. All I brought was my “want”(to learn the language and speak it well) and Elodie has been doing all the rest of work for me.

She is meticulously organized, has wealth of knowledge and experience in teaching the language, comes with patience of an angel, and a gift to tap into student’s least resistant way and pace of learning. Her explanations are simple, clear and they stick to your mind. She is genuine, intuitive and ever so encouraging which are all key factors in a highly sought after language professional.

Even as we laugh a lot and occasionally go off on a tangent, she always manages to teach me a new subject and follows up by providing assignments in written and/or oral format. As a result, my understanding is enhanced and I am able to better retain information.

I look forward to each class with Elodie. I highly recommend her for those searching for an ideal French teacher.

MI





Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or joym368 only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Ronald
June 2, 2011


Lead Acquired:
January 25, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
40
Best French Teacher I Ever Had!

If my french teachers at school had all been as good as Elodie I would have been bilingual before I came to France!

I wasn't even planning to take french lessons while we were here living in France but went along with my spouse and was so impressed with Elodie and her lesson that I ended up taking lessons with Elodie and was so glad that I did.

Elodie has a gift in taking all the complex grammar and structures and presenting it in a way that is simple, easy to understand and easy to put into practise. Elodie also easily determined our strengths and weaknesses and adjusted her lessons appropriately so that our French improved in the areas we needed it most.

Her lessons are intense, very practical and fun.

With Elodie's lessons, our French has improved dramatically and has made our stay in Provence so much more enjoyable by allowing us to interact with all the locals on a day to day basis and enjoy that true "Year in Provence" experience.

I can't say enough about how good a teacher Elodie is. If you are in Provence and want to learn French at any level, Elodie is the teacher for you.

Thanks Elodie!



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Ronald only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Parker
May 3, 2011


Lead Acquired:
July 6, 2010

Hours of Instructions:
90
A great techer

Elodie is an excellent teacher. She loves languages and the culture and history a language contains. She imparts this passion to her students via the language lessons.

In addition to learning the language I have acquired a vast amount of knowledge about France and French history as well as French culture.

I highly recommend this teacher.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Parker only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Richard
March 10, 2011


Lead Acquired:
October 23, 2010

Hours of Instructions:
12
Awesome!

Not only is Elodie extremely charming and sweet, she is a brilliant and very patient teacher (and as I am a complete idiot when it comes to languages this is obviously very helpful). To say that she has the patience of a saint would be doing the clergy a service – they’re not this good.

Elodie has a very nice classroom in her home (with beautiful and majestic Mont Ventoux) in the background. The environment is certainly conducive to learning and Elodie’s unfailing ability to produce encouragement in the face of disappointing levels of Englishness is impressive to say the least. Her many attributes include a fantastic command of English in which she manages to sound both captivating and cultivated whilst at the same time imparting vital bits of knowledge effortlessly.

From a starting point of extreme nervousness and having “the fear” when confronted by even the simplest and most banal of restaurant based conversations, I have developed confidence to the point where I am able to partake in conversation (well, almost – we’re getting there)with all but the most southern-accented of speed-speaking Saint-Remy-ennes(?).

In short, I don’t think I could “big up” Elodie any more than her teaching or indeed her charming and welcoming personality deserves.
If you need to learn to speak French, I can’t recommend Elodie highly enough.




Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Richard only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: stephanie
February 5, 2011


Lead Acquired:
September 22, 2009

Hours of Instructions:
20
Excellent teacher!

Elodie is the best French teacher that I have ever had! She makes it seem easy to learn French and I have been trying for many years now and it is finally starting to make sense. Her technique is very effective. If you happen to get the opportunity, I would highly recommend her...you will not regret it. She is also a very nice person and a joy to work with. If you happen to need a French teacher in Provence (she can also give lessons online) then give her a call.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or stephanie only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Alexandra
September 6, 2010


Lead Acquired:
June 4, 2010

Hours of Instructions:
13
A fab teacher

Elodie is an amazing teacher who is motivating and paassionate about teaching. I feel privileged to have been her student and learned, in the short time we spent together, so much.

She assesses your strengths and weaknesses and so you learn what is relevent to you.

I am so glad I did this course.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Alexandra only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Marie-Ange
June 19, 2010


Lead Acquired:
February 8, 2010

Hours of Instructions:
14
Tutoring Summary

Potential Future Students -

I am an student of Elodie. I live in Canada. We have been tutoring via Skype. I have found Elodie to be very helpful in helping me with my French oral habits. As an Anglophone speaker, I have an accent which flows over into my French.

Elodie made specific phonetic exercises to help reduce my English accent in French. We are still working on making francophone Rs. I did a lot of French practice of phonemes and then read texts to practice and improve. Now, we are working on impromptu storytelling, where I work on my use of subjunctive, imparfait, and plus-que-parfait. Elodie is an excellent teacher who encourages you throughout her endeavors to become better and to have the tools to become better.

I hope to continue to work with you Elodie.
Review written June 13.

Marie-Ange




Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Marie-Ange only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: R Shepherd
June 16, 2010


Lead Acquired:
January 4, 2010

Hours of Instructions:
9
Couldnt have found a better French Teacher

In the begining of this year I decided that I would try and learn a new language and decided that it would be french. I was looking for a native french speaking teacher and when i met Ms Elodie online I liked her immediately. I had absolutely no knowledge of the french language and she just knew how to make me feel comfortable and actully make an attempt to speak the language.
One of the things that made me feel very comfortable learning from her was that she spoke english very well, so I could easily clarify every time I had a doubt and she always understands what I am trying to ask her. Everytime my french class is over, I walk around the house with a pleased grin and am surprised that I am learning french online with a teacher who can understand my needs. She usually takes you though topics of your interest making it an interesting conversation and a great learning experiance, especially when I am learning something that I would really like to speak about in french.
I would love to recommend her as a teacher as she is really very different from many teachers that I have attempted to learn from, she is patient, dedicated and a nice person who makes french seem quite easy.
I think I am absolutely lucky to find her.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or R Shepherd only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Susan
June 15, 2010


Lead Acquired:
April 26, 2010

Hours of Instructions:
18
Personalized and clear

I spent four weeks with Elodie, 3-4 days a week, for 1.5 hours. Elodie raised my French conversational skills incredibly during that time. I came to her having had one year of French in college in 1985, and having recently reviewed French via CD and book, so I was quite stilted, often incorrect, and always searching for vocabulary.

Elodie brought out the best in me, giving me the confidence to relax and let what I knew come out of my brain and form sentences, and I was surprised to discover that there was actually quite a lot of French tucked away in there! The constant practice with her, the quick feedback, the encouragement, and the personalized structure all combined to give me the ability to use that information to actually speak French.

By the end of the four weeks, I finally had a grasp of what it was like to speak French, and not just make mental translations as if it were a mind game with complicated rules. For me, this was a breakthrough of incredible significance. French became a language, not a thought problem.

Elodie herself is fabulous. She is funny, caring, kind, and firm. She is encouraging and interesting, and no matter how bad a day I had been having before arriving at her school, I was in a great mood by the time I sat down because I was so happy to be with her. She has a great sense of humor, and of empathy, and these qualities made me want to talk to her --- great motivation to speak French!



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Susan only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: K. Gutowsky
March 29, 2010


Lead Acquired:
March 24, 2010

Hours of Instructions:
45
Elodie has helped me move to the highest level!

By far and above, Elodie is the best language teacher I have ever had. From the very first session, she knew just how to tap into my learning style and help me outline my language goals. I came to her as an intermediate student who had tried several French courses, private tutors and online tools, but just couldn't move to the next level. Elodie realized my 'tics' right away and moved in quickly to improve those areas. From there, she focused on my interests - literature, radio, international news, politics - and recommended tools and media to use to practice the language at a more fluent level. And she has an amazing sense of humor, enthusiasm and commitment to me as an individual learner that goes far beyond expectations. I am happy to announce that after a year, I am ready to take the DELF, thanks to Elodie.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or K. Gutowsky only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Charlotte Angus
September 22, 2009


Lead Acquired:
August 29, 2007

Hours of Instructions:
300
You won't find a better teacher!

French was a subject I really struggled with at school so when we moved to Provence I knew I needed a seriously good teacher with a sense of humour. I was thrilled when I discovered Elodie. With her impressive method of teaching I actually felt comfortable having a basic conversation after only a few lessons!

Her courses are tailored to suit the needs of each student. They follow a logical progression in their content and gradually build on what has been learned before. Elodie records phrases onto tape to aid pronunciation and gives helpful excercises to reinforce grammar. The lessons are dynamic, professional and really enjoyable.

Elodie is so passionate about french food, wine and culture that she organises wonderful winetastings and dinners for her students as well as lending them books, films and CD's (my music collection is definitely richer!)

I would recommend Elodie to all, whatever level of french you wish to study.




Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Charlotte Angus only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Claire Shah
November 21, 2008


Lead Acquired:
September 4, 2008

Hours of Instructions:
20
Excellent tutor for TEF over Skype

Elodie was an excellent tutor - I needed to prepare for an intermediate level TEF exam. Although I was working overseas, we completed several lessons using Skype - she began with a good assessment of my level and tailored a lesson schedule for me which resulted in a very successful TEF score two weeks ago.

I would highly recommend her to anyone seeking to improve their French skills.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Claire Shah only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Lori MANSOUR
August 12, 2008


Lead Acquired:
February 20, 2007

Hours of Instructions:
40
What can I say? She is outstanding !

Elodie is exceptional. She develops lessons to your level and has the patience of a saint.

My life has changed considerably due to my lessons with Elodie. I cannot thank her enough.

In addition to being an excellent teacher, she is a lovely person, who genuinely cares about her students and their lives in France.

Can't recommend her highly enough !

Thanks Elodie !!





Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Lori MANSOUR only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Kevin Lambrych
December 13, 2007


Lead Acquired:
March 18, 2006

Hours of Instructions:
300
Elodie is a creative, dedicated, and inspiring teacher

First we have to say the Elodie is extremely professional and we could not be more satisfied with our learning experience. It was a pleasure to work with her. When we moved to France as expats for 2 years, our French was lacking to say the least. Elodie's creative teaching style allowed us to not only learn the language, but also gain insight into the French culture. Exercises were designed to keep the lessons fun and interesting, hitting on our personal interests. She made notes during each lesson and recorded model phrases for us to review after each course. She tracked our progress and would remind us of how far we had come when we felt discouraged. Elodie also helped us prepare for practical situations. For example, we had our second child while living here, and Elodie incorporated vocabulary in our discussions that really helped during conversations with doctors and other parents. Also, when I mentioned that it was hard to make or receive phone calls in French, one of our lessons was conducted over the telephone. Elodie was always very flexible with regard to scheduling weekly lessons. We highly recommend Elodie, and we feel lucky to have found such a competent and caring teacher.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Kevin Lambrych only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Catherine Lane
April 9, 2007


Lead Acquired:
February 8, 2006

Hours of Instructions:
25
Excellent French Teacher

Elodie tailors every lesson specifically to my level of French and the learning is relaxed and enjoyable. I can recommend Elodie very highly as she is by far the most skilled French teacher I have had.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Catherine Lane only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Ellen Pedersen
December 20, 2006


Lead Acquired:
May 8, 2006

Hours of Instructions:
30
great teacher

Elodie was a very effective teacher. Not only were her courses informative but they were also very fun. She is a very nice person who meets your needs excellently, I am very glad I chose her for my teacher.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Ellen Pedersen only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Gerry Meloy
December 19, 2006


Lead Acquired:
August 17, 2005

Hours of Instructions:
90
The very best

I have taken instruction from Elodie both as a tutor while I stayed in Avignon and at her school in Mormoiron. She is by far the best french instructor I have studied with! Her approach makes the hard work of learning a language rewarding and enjoyable. The very small classes, 3 persons, assured individual attention and lessons tailored to each persons learning style. She made all the arrangements for my stay in the charming village of Mormoiron and made sure that I was happy with the facilities. Life in the village and trips she arranged to restuarants and wineries added to my understanding of French culture and use of the language. I will definately take additional instruction from Elodie, she is by far the best.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Gerry Meloy only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: karen ewing
November 28, 2006


Lead Acquired:
November 26, 2006

Hours of Instructions:
30
The Perfect French Teacher

I finally found the perfect French Teacher! She is knowledgeable, lively and fun. I spent one month studying with her in the delightful petit village of Mormoiron in the Vaucluse region of France in the heart of wine country. In a class of 2-3 students 3 hours per day, I made amazing progress. Elodie has a way of explaining French grammar that is easy to understand, she easily engages you in conversation, never pressing you to hurry. She assesses your strenghths and weaknesses and works on them with exercises verbal drills and written stories. I felt my grasp of grammar, speaking and writing to be vastly improved, especially how to say things in the "French manner", not just in translated English.
Previously I had attended 2 different language schools in France for the same amount of time. I found that classes of 10-12 students were very ineffective compared to the samll totally iinteractive class with Elodie. I am so glad to have found her and would highly recommend her to anyone wanting a rich and successful experience.Elodie's methods, which build much confidence in speaking, listening and writing can take you to the next level. I am happy to communicate with anyone who has questions regarding the experience.

I learned about Elodie from my neighbor Polly who has a profile on this site I have had a month of lessons with my teacher, Elodie and I am now creating a profile here so that I can write a review for my teacher.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or karen ewing only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Leanne
April 17, 2006


Lead Acquired:
October 19, 2005

Hours of Instructions:
25
A talented and adaptable teacher with thorough understanding of french language.

This February, I was fortunate enough to study French for 5 weeks with
Elodie Préaud. Elodie is a talented teacher with an unbelievably thorough
understanding of the French language and grammar. She has the rare gift of
understanding people and being incredibly sensitive to the individual. She
truly enjoys what she does which aids in creating an overall positive and
successful experience for the student.

Right from the start, she was always prepared and professional. She was very
organized but was also fluid and flexible enough to be able to adjust to
what I most needed to work on. She was gifted at designing the lessons to
suit my learning style which she quickly intuited. From our initial meeting
and subsequent lessons, she assessed how best to teach me. She was
successful at creating lessons that followed a logical progression but in a
way that I could understand and find interesting. And I could sense that
these lessons were designed very specifically to me and that the next person
would experience something completely different but equally as customized
and appropriate.

I had communicated with Elodie for several months in advance of going to
Provence where she is based. She went over and above what was necessary in
order to find me an appropriate place to live and made the arrangements on
my behalf. She matched me with a wonderful family who I became quite
attached to in the 5 weeks I spent with them. I had many special requests
that needed addressing and she was incredibly accommodating and willing to
go above and beyond to find solutions to these requests. She managed to find
me the perfect home that went well beyond just being conveniently located. I
had such a great experience living with them.

My overall experience was nothing but positive. Not only is Elodie a
tremendously likeable and generous person [I feel as though I made a friend,
as well], she is an endless resource for the French language and culture and
will teach you as much as you are willing to learn.

Best regards,
Leanne Welbourn




Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Leanne only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Robert
December 30, 2005


Lead Acquired:
August 30, 2005

Hours of Instructions:
30
Excellent teacher

I'm an intermediate level speaker of French. I've been studying with Elodie by telephone for the last four months. What a wonderful instructor she is! Once she assesses your abilities, she tailors her lessons accordingly. She is the ideal teacher. Considerate, patient and fun. Her lessons are very effective over the phone. My French has improved immensely. I only wish I had known about her earlier. I highly recommend her for beginning to advanced level learners.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Robert only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Emma Scadden
December 11, 2005


Lead Acquired:
May 2, 2005

Hours of Instructions:
30
Highly recommended teacher

Elodie is an absolutely excellent teacher. After assessing me, she quickly found my areas of weakness and targeted those in our lessons. At the beginning of each lesson, Elodie would tell me what our targets were, helping me to keep focussed throughout. At the conclusion of each lesson, Elodie would record useful phrases from the day's lesson onto a tape which I found very helpful to listen to between my lessons. Homework tasks were interesting and challenging and Elodie gave very good feedback on written homework tasks which I found very beneficial. Elodie is a very caring, organised and fun teacher and I highly recommned her. My only regret is that I did not organise myself to start lessons sooner.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Emma Scadden only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Edward
December 5, 2005


Lead Acquired:
April 7, 2005

Hours of Instructions:
80
Outstanding, capable, cooperative

Elodie and I worked together four hours a day for a month. I wanted personal tutoring, and she arranged a classroom in Avignon, where we met daily. She began by evaluating my needs and abilities and planning the course of the month's lessons. She was extremely capable, especially in matters of grammar, which I had asked her to emphasize. I'm sure she would tailor a course for anyone else's interests, however, because she has broad knowledge of the French language and its literature. We finished the course right on time, as she had scheduled. She really is an outstanding teacher.
Elodie is also very helpful: I flew from the US to Paris and then took the TGV to Avignon. I spent two weeks living with a French family and then two further weeks in a small hotel. Elodie helped me arrange both situations and came into the city each day for the classes.
She is a nice person, with many interests and a pleasant personality. That doesn't, however, stand in the way of her insistence that lessons be learned and applied. Her courses are not for for the faint-of-heart - they are for serious students.
I give Elodie the highest recommendation.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Edward only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Margo
September 18, 2005


Lead Acquired:
April 12, 2005

Hours of Instructions:
40
Elodie is an excellent teacher who adjusts the lessons to meet the pupils needs.

I went to Avignon on holiday and spent the mornings improving my French with Elodie. I found her to be an excellent teacher. From talking with me she quickly identified the most important areas that I needed to improve. She then designed a lesson plan around them. She made the lessons very enjoyable and stress free. Even though I tend to be a shy person, she made me feel very comfortable and helped to build my confidence level. I felt that through my lessons with Elodie I made great improvements in my French. I would highly recommend her to anyone.



Add a follow-up message (Elodie Préaud or Margo only)





View Teacher Profile






Featuring over 91 languages, including...
English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Korean, Chinese (Mandarin), Chinese (Cantonese), Portuguese, Russian, Thai, Swedish, Greek, Arabic (Egyptian), Arabic (Middle Eastern), Arabic (Moroccan), Arabic (other)

Online courses and tutors:
English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Korean, Chinese (Mandarin), Chinese (Cantonese), Portuguese, Russian, Thai, Swedish, Greek, Arabic (Egyptian), Arabic (Middle Eastern), Arabic (Moroccan), Arabic (other)

To view all languages, please click here.

Featuring locations all over the world, including...
London, New York City, Toronto, Buenos Aires, Montreal, Los Angeles, Chicago, Paris, Sydney, Tokyo, Tehran, Kuala Lumpur, Madrid, Melbourne, Houston, Istanbul, Taipei, Boston, Barcelona, San Diego, Atlanta, Bangalore, Seattle, San Francisco, Bangkok, Mumbai, Vancouver, Singapore, Dallas, Philadelphia, Manchester, Miami, Chennai, Karachi, Shanghai, Beijing, Sao Paulo, Cairo, Dubai, Seoul, Washington DC, Brisbane, Manila, Moscow, Hyderabad, Ottawa, Portland, California, Calgary, Lahore, Auckland, Lima, Orlando, Delhi, Jakarta, Perth, Dublin, Zagreb, Columbus, Rome, Denver, Sacramento, Milan, Phoenix, Detroit, Mexico City, Ankara, Pittsburgh, Athens, Birmingham, Minneapolis, Las Vegas, San Jose, Osaka, Quebec City, Berlin, Bucharest, Brooklyn, Edmonton, Glasgow, Pune, New Delhi

To view all locations, please start by choosing your country here.



Privacy | Membership Agreement | Help 

Copyright © 2003-2017 Language-School-Teachers.com