Language-School-Teachers.com
Find classes, courses or private lessons. Study in class, from a distance or study abroad. Get tutoring help for grammar or proficiency tests such as toefl.
Learners: Find Teachers  Create Profile FAQ's Login
Teachers & Schools: Find Learners  Create Profile FAQ's Login
Self-study: Lessons  - Quizzes  - Articles  - Create  
Welcome Guest!

Home
Online Language Courses
Jobs
Contact Us
Join!

Read Teacher Reviews - MONICA BARNES

Review of MONICA BARNES by Ingrid Wetterqvist and all follow-up messages:

Rating Comments
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Ingrid Wetterqvist
July 13, 2017


Lead Acquired:
February 20, 2016

Hours of Instructions:
40
Dynamic and great fun!

Monica is a great teacher. She perfectly adapted to my level of Spanish, found interesting articles to read and discuss. She expertly sneaked in both grammar and vocab. Thanks to Monica I have been able not only to keep my Spanish competence alive, but also to improve my knowledge. Self studying is not my forte, Monica has adapted our lessons to this. Instead of having bad conscience for not having done a lot of homework, I hang up happy and reinvigorated after our lessons. Thank you, Monica!
Ingrid W



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Ingrid Wetterqvist only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Stefanie
August 27, 2016


Lead Acquired:
June 23, 2016

Hours of Instructions:
10
The best Spanish teacher!

The best Spanish teacher

I would recommend Mònica to anyone who wants to learn Spanish or Catalan. She's a great teacher!

She's professional, always well-prepared and she's such a nice person. I felt comfortable working with Mònica from the start. We were speaking Spanish from the first lesson. She knows how to give you just enough language to challenge you, but you never feel overwhelmed. She has good energy and focus and she's very patient. She's like a coach who guides you through the Spanish language rather than instructing you.

She is a fantastic teacher and Skype works very well for our lessons. The classes are very intense and I learn so much in each lesson. Mònica is very motivating and supportive. The lessons are tailored to my needs. I can choose subjects I'm interested in and Mònica always builds in interesting information about Spanish and Catalan culture and traditions.

The time passes quickly with Mònica and I always look forward to the next class. That's probably the best compliment you can pay a teacher. I have read Mònica's self-assessment and agree with it.

I'd have a look at Mònica's profile if you want more information. I would highly recommend her to anyone with interest in learning Spanish or Catalan. Try it out! You won't regret it!

Thank you, Mònica!



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Stefanie only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Sanna
February 12, 2016


Lead Acquired:
January 26, 2015

Hours of Instructions:
16
Mònica is a dedicated tutor that turns learning into a pleasure

I have been taking classes in Catalan for Mònica for about four months now, and have every intention to keep it up.

Having previously studied several Romance languages I found that a private tutor would be the best way to improve my Catalan in a way that would suit my very varying levels of knowledge. I was happy to receive an e-mail from Mònica, presenting me with the opportunity to start taking classes for her over Skype.

My previous experiences with Internet courses in languages have been so so, why I initially searched for courses in my home town. However, the difficulty of finding tutors and classes in Catalan lead me to wanting to try out classes on Skype.

This turned out to be an excellent solution in many ways: in means learning efficiently, as you get the complete attention of the teacher, classes that are well adapted to your own level, and a general flexibility in topics and exercises. Mònica has found a very good way to structure the classes, where your focus as a student is 100% on talking. That does not mean at the expense of writing or reading, but is rather an efficient way to get into the language quickly, and to start being able to use it. I haven't missed taking classes with a group of other students, or classes in a physical class room, for a second.

Apart from being a great teacher, what I appreciate a lot about Mònica is her enthusiasm and creativity. Being a person who enjoys learning languages, I still have never had as much fun in the process of learning before. I very much look forward to my classes, and once there time flies. Mònica is without a doubt influential - my partner from Barcelona has told me I'm taking on an Emporda accent, which is funny since other Catalans I talk to mainly speak with a Barcelona accent.

I would certainly recommend anyone considering taking Catalan classes to be in touch with Mònica. If you're doubting whether Skype classes are your thing, I can only urge you to try it out. You won't regret it.



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Sanna only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: carlo brayda
April 14, 2015


Lead Acquired:
March 27, 2015

Hours of Instructions:
17
Excellent Experience

Monica is without a doubt the best language teacher I have ever had.

I have been able to learn at a steady pace with her, and have made good progress already. I am especially happy about the fact that I feel that I am learning the foundations of the language well, so that I can build up complexity from a solid base later.

Monica is always very well prepared for her lessons, and manages to strike a great mix of grammar and conversation.

My Skype lessons with Monica are always a pleasure I look forward to.

My ambition is to have full command of the Catalan language, and I am certain that with Monica’s guidance I will achieve it.




Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or carlo brayda only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Donna
January 31, 2015


Lead Acquired:
December 28, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
3
Super teacher

I really look forward to my weekly lesson with Monica. She is patient, friendly and her enthusiasm is contagious. I love my lessons with her.



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Donna only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Steve Greene
January 23, 2015


Lead Acquired:
September 25, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
15
A Natural Born Teacher

I have been taking Catalan classes with Monica via Skype for 3 months and would recommend her to anyone who wants to learn Spanish or Catalan.

I teach English and I know how difficult it is to find a good language teacher. Before we started classes, we exchanged thoughts on teaching and language learning. Reading her emails, it was like I had written them myself. We shared so many of the same ideas.

I felt comfortable working with Monica right away, Even though I am a beginner; we were speaking Catalan from the first lesson. She knows how to give you just enough language to challenge you, but you never feel overwhelmed. She has good energy and focus and is very patient. She’s like a coach who guides you through the language rather than instructing you.

The time passes quickly and I always look forward to the next class. I think that’s probably the best compliment you can pay a teacher.

I have read Monica’s self-assessment and agree with it. I would have a look at that if you want more information.

Stephen Greer




Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Steve Greene only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Kate
January 14, 2015


Lead Acquired:
September 22, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
12
Fantastic teacher - I cannot say enough good things about Mònica!

Mònica is a fantastic teacher of Catalan. I moved to Andorra without knowing a word of Catalan but thanks to Mònica’s excellent teaching, I can now communicate reasonably well – still a long way to go but at least I can survive in daily life!
Skype works very well for the lessons. The classes are very intense – constant concentration is required but I learn so much in each lesson – and Mònica is very motivating and supportive throughout. The lessons are tailored to my needs and Mònica also builds in interesting information about Catalan culture and traditions.
I would highly recommend Mònica to anyone with an interest in learning Catalan.




Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Kate only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Joy
December 8, 2014


Lead Acquired:
September 4, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
5
Mònica is simply the Best

Mònica is an exceptional teacher. She has fully understood my objectives and has tailored our classes accordingly. She is both spontaneous and well prepared. I thoroughly enjoy our lessons.

Mònica really is everything she stated in her profile. She has a wonderful and warm personality and I always look forward to our lessons. I have seen a marked improvement in my conversational Spanish, over the past months, as well as significant increase in what I call my ‘language confidence’.

The Skype medium is also working very well.




Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Joy only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Larry Boone
October 8, 2014


Lead Acquired:
April 21, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
30
The Best Language Teacher Ever!

Classes with Mònica surpassed all my expectations! Her classes are fun yet demanding. Mònica possesses a very special skill that enables her to make the most difficult language topics easy for even me to understand. Intertwined within our lessons are discussions of culture, politics and even current events. She is currently teaching me Spanish but I'm also going to learn Catalan from her too.

I can't recommend her enough! If you have a chance to learn from Mònica, don't let the opportunity slip past you. I'm glad I didn't, because now I couldn't imagine learning Spanish from anyone else!



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Larry Boone only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Tor Håkon
October 3, 2014


Lead Acquired:
June 2, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
12
Excellent teacher!

When looking for a teacher to learn me Catalan I wanted one who was passionate about language and learning and one who could be a bit strict and make me work hard. I found this in Monica who I enjoyed working with and I learned a lot very fast. I really looked forward to my Skype-sessions with her. She is a lovely person, and I hope to continue using her services for my future learning!



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Tor Håkon only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Lola
July 7, 2014


Lead Acquired:
February 19, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
12
Excellent teacher

Monica loves to teach. She tailors lessons to specific needs or requests. She is flexible, motivating, extremely gracious and professional.
Bottom line, if you want to learn Spanish, she is the best.



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Lola only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Mary Kate
July 4, 2014


Lead Acquired:
March 25, 2014

Hours of Instructions:
12
If you want to learn Catalan, TALK TO MONICA!

Monica is, in a word, INCREDIBLE! Not only is she super nice but she is also an amazing teacher. If I ever have questions about something (whether it's grammar, culture-related, or context-related) she is so great about explaining everything in depth and with great precision. She customizes each class so that you get to learn what YOU want to learn each time! She is always so kind and she never makes you feel stupid for asking a question. It is obvious that she is passionate about the Catalan language and she loves to share that with others. I have been working with her for a few months and I have learned so much! She assigns homework and provides materials so you can learn even when you are not in your sessions together. If you want to learn Catalan, I definitely recommend you contact Monica!! She does lessons either in person or over Skype which is super convenient! I can't wait to continue working with her in the future!



Update: This year I started taking Spanish lessons from a local university in order to get university credit for my school in the US. However, the classes were not helping me with advancing my Spanish. Since I had gotten lots of Catalan help from Monica, I asked her if she would be able to help me with Spanish as well and she kindly agreed. To put things in perspective: on multiple occasions, Monica has explained something perfectly in 10 seconds whereas my other teachers try to explain for an hour and it never makes sense. With Monica's help, my confidence with speaking has improved and my general overall understanding of the language has improved. In my university classes I am in the superior level but I do not get much practice or individualized attention. With Monica's lessons I have been able to get a deeper understanding of both Catalan and Spanish and she ties them together so nicely that it is even easier to understand. She is not judgmental at all and will not look down on you if you get an answer wrong. She is extremely patient as well and super helpful. There have been multiple times when I need urgent help with a certain topic or I need extra lessons to prepare for an upcoming exam and she is so patient and kind about it that all of my stress immediately goes away. She is organized, thorough, patient, kind, smart, and most of all an incredible teacher. You'll love her classes!

- Mary Kate
- December 3, 2014


Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Mary Kate only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Vitaly
December 20, 2013


Lead Acquired:
February 11, 2013

Hours of Instructions:
10
Very proffesional and responsible tutor

Monica is one of the best tutors I have ever met online. Her lessons are very efficient because:
1. Monica tailors them to each student
2. She is a quite demanding teacher
3. She keeps the level of the lessons challenging enough to make her students to progress.
Not only I am learning the language, but also lots of things about Spain, its culture, politics and economics - the subjects that fascinate me.
She is very knowledgeable in many areas so it is very easy to find mutual interests with her.
I highly recommend Monica as a private tutor.



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Vitaly only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Henning
July 4, 2013


Lead Acquired:
January 2, 2013

Hours of Instructions:
20
Excellent teacher!

I am taking weekly classes (1 hour) in Catalan with Monica.

She is a great teacher who loves teaching. Her class is always productive and fun, and after the lesson I am always in a good mood. She has a good agenda she follows and is professional, yet not too serious or distant.

Her teaching style is to draw you into conversations and before you realize you can speak and understand a new language. It only took me a couple of weeks to be able to form sentences and by now - 5 months later - I can have conversations with friends and family.

I also can compare her classes directly with a course I took at the same time at Instituto Cervantes. In the end I cancelled that course, because the speed there was too slow and the teacher too unmotivating. Having a good teacher makes a big difference!

I didn't know that learning a language via Skype can be so cool. I never felt as productive when learning a new language.

I also hope more people will start learning catalan, thank you Monica!



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Henning only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: richard bloor
July 1, 2013


Lead Acquired:
July 23, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
30
Fun Learning!

I love my Catalan classes with Monica. She only speaks English when really needed and has a great way of speaking and helping you retain new vocab and phrases.

I get the sense Monica adapts very well to peoples own requirements to make sure they enjoy and get the most from their classes. I tend to talk a lot about Catalan food and FC Barcelona, 2 of my passions and have a lot of fun. My wife goes a more academic route. Our classes seem different but we both
couldn´t be more happy.



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or richard bloor only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: richard bloor
July 1, 2013


Lead Acquired:
July 23, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
30
Fun Learning!

I love my Catalan classes with Monica. She only speaks English when really needed and has a great way of speaking and helping you retain new vocab and phrases.

I get the sense Monica adapts very well to peoples own requirements to make sure they enjoy and get the most from their classes. I tend to talk a lot about Catalan food and FC Barcelona, 2 of my passions and have a lot of fun. My wife goes a more academic route. Our classes seem different but we both
couldn´t be more happy.



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or richard bloor only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Tony
June 15, 2013


Lead Acquired:
June 14, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
70
Excellent teacher, very high quality.

Monica is an excellent teacher of Catalan and is very passionate about the language. I am very interested in history and Monica picks up on the student's interests and incorporates them into the lesson. In addition, Monica takes her time to deliver important grammar concepts which the student may find difficult.

Apart from being an excellent teacher Monica has a great personality that makes the learning environment relaxing and the student more receptive.

Una professora excellent.



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Tony only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Quinn Allen
May 21, 2013


Lead Acquired:
February 21, 2013

Hours of Instructions:
7
¡Increible!

I worked with Monica for a few sessions to help improve my spanish level for my upcoming finals and could not have been happier with the results. I passed all my tests and did well on them too. She is very organized in her approach and makes it very easy to grasp the irregular parts of spanish. If you want to improve then look no further.

Thank you Monica :)

Q



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Quinn Allen only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Hugo
January 22, 2013


Lead Acquired:
September 12, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
14
Monica is a fantastic teacher

I highly recommend Monica as a Spanish language teacher. We worked together for several months and usually met once per week for an hour. She has such a great attitude and personality that it made our time together a joy. I was uncomfortable speaking Spanish when we first started and with her help, I now feel much more confident. She was very flexible and was willing to discuss any topic that interested me. For example, I wanted to talk about, culture, food, travel, business, and she offered great suggestions each time. Practicing language skills with someone like Monica is a huge benefit to anyone wanting to take a step toward language immersion without having to travel to Spain to do it. Buena suerte!!



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Hugo only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Abigail Schneider
December 11, 2012


Lead Acquired:
October 23, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
20
Amazing teacher!

I have loved working with Monica for the past two months! First off, she is really caring warm nice funny great person who actually wants to help you learn the language. She totally understands that learning a language is hard and so knows how to explain grammer in more then one way in order to make sure that you can understand it. She's so patient and kind and never makes you feel inadequate.

Though, she definitely does make you work hard and reach your full ability. She diligently checks your homework and gives you a wide variety of activities (worksheets, book translations, writing exercises, reading comprehension etc.) to help you attack Spanish from all different ways making her way of teaching really comprehensive.

If anyone wants to learn a new language with a fun, supportive, smart, organized teacher I would highly highly highly recommend Monica!



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Abigail Schneider only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Stephanie
November 5, 2012


Lead Acquired:
September 28, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
6
Highly recommended - a fantastic teacher!

When I first started taking Spanish Skype lessons with Mònica, I felt quite insecure about my spoken Spanish. That all changed within one lesson! Mònica is a fantastic and inspiring teacher who made me feel comfortable and secure using the language.

I would be able to choose the topic for my lesson a week in advance, and then we would discuss the subject amongst many other conversation topics. The classes were fun, interesting and I always looked forward to Mònica's cheerful "Holas!" at the start of each class.

I would highly recommend taking classes with her, she'll make learning a new language your favorite pastime!



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Stephanie only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Emma Page
August 8, 2012


Lead Acquired:
May 24, 2012

Hours of Instructions:
30
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

I have been having lessons since January 2012 for one hour a week. I am a mature student and have not studied for about 20 years...Monica is very patient but at the same time very encouraging. Our classes are well structured and Monica is constantly challenging me. Lessons are carried out via SKYPE and Monica is always prompt with her time keeping.
I was a complete novice when I began in January but my ability to speak Spanish is now good and my understanding of the grammar is beginning to 'sink in'! I really look forward to my lesson each week knowing that Monica will greet me with a smile. I didnt realise that learning could be so much fun and would recommend Monica to anyone who is thinking about learning another language.



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Emma Page only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Alexandra DiBacco
January 14, 2012


Lead Acquired:
August 30, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
17
Fun and challenging

Monica has been everything I was looking for in a Spanish teacher. I learn lots of new vocabulary every time, but its vocab that I would actually use in real life. We almost always speak in Spanish, yet I am still practicing grammar. I especially like how she will sometimes quiz me on past vocab, since that causes me to study more. Great lessons so far!



Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Alexandra DiBacco only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Mo
November 7, 2011


Lead Acquired:
July 4, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
10
A great, convenient way of learning - to be recommended

I love the classes with Monica Barnes on Skype. As a busy working mother, I have very little time and energy to join a conversation Spanish class in the evenings after work. With Monica I can have my Spanish lessons at home, at a time which suits us both. We either choose subjects in advance over which to converse, or let the conversation take its own rhythm. She uses Skype messages to give me "hints" about words I am hesitating over during the conversation and also to correct the errors I make. I can then print these messages as lists of vocabulary/grammar to learn. She also can set homework which is corrected in time for the next lesson.
The fees are highly competitive and payment is easy either by using Paypal or bank transfer. It really could not be more convenient.
Monica comes highly recommended from this very satisfied customer.




Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Mo only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Simon McKay
September 27, 2011


Lead Acquired:
May 30, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
20
Monica is a great spanish teacher!

Monica is a great spanish teacher! I have been learning spanish with Monica for 1 hour per week for several months now, and really feel that I am making progress (unfortunately I don't have time for more classes each week!).

The classes are via Skype, and the sound and visual quality are always excellent. The classes are a mix of grammar and conversation, and are specifically tailored to my needs, and also to the particular themes and topics that I suggest. In addition, I have learn't a great deal of "real" spanish, and not simply the textbook expressions and words. I have also learn't a great deal about spanish culture, customs and local traditions.

I always look forward to my classes, even after a long day in the office, as I know that Monica will be her usual bundle of energy - she clearly loves teaching, sharing the spanish langauge and seeing her students progress.

I highly recommend Monica, she turns learning into a pleasure.






Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Simon McKay only)
Score: 5 stars of 5
By: Yolanda
July 26, 2011


Lead Acquired:
May 30, 2011

Hours of Instructions:
5
Excellent and very communicative

Monica is a great teacher of Spanish, and a very responsive and open-minded one.

She immediately grasps the student's needs and prepares her class accordingly.

She is always eager to explain and send teaching material to her students and she is very willing to accept new ideas and suggestions.

A very easy-going and warm person. A great pleasure to be her student.



I have been working with Monica on and off since 2011 because my tight schedule wouldn't allow me to have regular classes.

However, since the beginning of 2016 I have been able to take regular Spanish lessons with Monica and I am thankful because she has inspired me to venture proficiency in this language.

Thank you Monica!

- Yolanda
- July 26, 2016


Add a follow-up message (MONICA BARNES or Yolanda only)





View Teacher Profile






Featuring over 91 languages, including...
English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Korean, Chinese (Mandarin), Chinese (Cantonese), Portuguese, Russian, Thai, Swedish, Greek, Arabic (Egyptian), Arabic (Middle Eastern), Arabic (Moroccan), Arabic (other)

Online courses and tutors:
English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Korean, Chinese (Mandarin), Chinese (Cantonese), Portuguese, Russian, Thai, Swedish, Greek, Arabic (Egyptian), Arabic (Middle Eastern), Arabic (Moroccan), Arabic (other)

To view all languages, please click here.

Featuring locations all over the world, including...
London, New York City, Toronto, Buenos Aires, Montreal, Los Angeles, Chicago, Paris, Sydney, Tokyo, Tehran, Kuala Lumpur, Madrid, Melbourne, Houston, Istanbul, Taipei, Boston, Barcelona, San Diego, Atlanta, Bangalore, Seattle, San Francisco, Bangkok, Mumbai, Vancouver, Singapore, Dallas, Philadelphia, Manchester, Miami, Chennai, Karachi, Shanghai, Beijing, Sao Paulo, Cairo, Dubai, Seoul, Washington DC, Brisbane, Manila, Moscow, Hyderabad, Ottawa, Portland, California, Calgary, Lahore, Auckland, Lima, Orlando, Delhi, Jakarta, Perth, Dublin, Zagreb, Columbus, Rome, Denver, Sacramento, Milan, Phoenix, Detroit, Mexico City, Ankara, Pittsburgh, Athens, Birmingham, Minneapolis, Las Vegas, San Jose, Osaka, Quebec City, Berlin, Bucharest, Brooklyn, Edmonton, Glasgow, Pune, New Delhi

To view all locations, please start by choosing your country here.



Privacy | Membership Agreement | Help 

Copyright © 2003-2018 Language-School-Teachers.com